Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic Dates in Place September 19, 2016


EL PASO, Texas – The Sun Bowl Association and Western Refining announced today the dates for the Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic Friday through Sunday, Nov. 11-13 at the El Paso Country Club.

Invitations to the 42nd edition of the All-America Classic include 2016 PING All-America first team, second team, third team and honorable mention selections. Some of golf’s brightest stars have traveled to El Paso to compete in the tournament since its inaugural year in 1974.

“This tournament has become a pillar here in El Paso and in the golf community,” said Tournament Chairman Gary Hanson. “The rich history of this tournament is a testament to the quality of our alumni that seem to win a PGA Tour event every week, and we are excited about the potential participants for this year’s tournament. It will be another exciting conclusion to the fall college schedule.”

Jordan Spieth, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Davis Love III, Ricky Barnes, Notah Begay and Jerry Pate are just a handful of past participants who went on to have successful PGA careers. College All-America Golf Classic Alumni have combined to win 50 majors championships and have earned over $1.8 billion in career earnings.

To be eligible for competition student-athletes must have been named as an All-America team honoree during the previous year as well the US Amateur Champion or Runner Up who still have collegiate eligibility. The event is free and open to the public.

2016 Schedule
Friday (Nov. 11)
• 9 a.m. Titleist Long Drive
• 10 a.m. PING Putting Contest

Saturday (Nov. 12)
• 8 a.m. First & Second Rounds

Sunday (Nov. 13)
• 8 a.m. Final Round

Lee Trevino Trophy presentation to the winner immediately following final round.

Eligible Participants
• First Team
Beau Hossler (Texas)
Maverick McNealy (Stanford)
Sam Horsfield (Florida)
Matthias Schwab (Vanderbilt)
Robby Shelton (Alabama)
Aaron Wise (Oregon)

• Second Team
Doug Ghim (Texas)
Gavin Hall (Texas)
Rico Hoey (USC)
KK Limbhasut (California)
Nahum Mendoza III (San Diego State)

• Third Team
Derick Bard (Virginia)
Will Gordon (Vanderbilt)
Tyler McDaniel (Kentucky)
Max McGreevy (Oklahoma)
Collin Morikawa (California)
Greyson Sigg (Georgia)
Kristoffer Ventura (Oklahoma State)

• Honorable Mention
Sam Burns (LSU)
Chelso Barrett (TCU)
Jared duToit (Arizona State)
Luis Gagne (LSU)
Patrick Martin (Vanderbilt)
Dillion Myer (Illinois)
Gordon Neale (Florida)
Stratton Nolen (Oklahoma State)
John Oda (UNLV)
Jeremy Paul (Colorado)
Corey Pereira (Washington)
William Rainey (Charleston)
Davis Riley (Alabama)
Justin Suh (USC)
Lars van Meijel (Memphis)
Will Zalatoris (Wake Forest)
Michael Perras (Houston)
Charles Kim (Arkansas)
Franklin Huang (Stanford)
Ryan Cole James (James Madison)

• Division II
John Coultas (Florida Southern)

• US Amateur Runner-up
Brad Dalke (Oklahoma)

Editor’s Note: *another release will be sent out when the tournament field is finalized.

+ Sun Bowl +