Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-American Golf Classic: LONG DRIVE AND PUTTING CONTEST RESULTS November 6, 2015


EL PASO, Texas – The Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic official got underway, Friday, Nov. 6 with the long drive and putting contests at the El Paso Country Club.

Brandon Matthews, a Temple Owl senior and 2015 All-America honorable mention, won the long drive contest blasting the ball 345 yards down the fairway. Matthews’ hit was just seven yards farther than the second place finishers. East Tennessee State senior Adrian Meronk tied for second with Arkansas senior Taylor Moore with a distance of 338 yards.

Vanderbilt senior Zack Jaworski won the putting contest by just one stroke. He won by carding 18 strokes on a make-shift course that featured obstacles such as an oversized boot and putting while sitting on a saddle. South Florida junior Rigel Fernandes placed second with 19 stokes.

PGA legend Lee Trevino was also on hand encouraging the All-American throughout the morning.

The first two rounds of the 2015 Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic starts at 8 a.m. (MT) at the El Paso Country Club. Live scoring will be available online at

Name (School) – Distance
Brandon Matthews (Temple) – 345 yards (WINNER)
Adrian Meronk (ETSU) – 338 yards
Taylor Moore (Arkansas) – 338 yards
Will Zalatoris (Wake Forest) – 328 yards
Brandon Pierce (LSU) – 325 yards
Zach Wright (LSU) – 324 yards
Gavin Hall (Texas) – 319 yards
Rigel Fernandes (South Florida) – 319 yards
Rico Hoey (USC) – 318 yards
Claudio Correa (South Florida) – 316 yards
Blair Hamilton (Houston) – 311 yards
Max Rottluff (Arizona State) – 306 yards
Doug Ghim (Texas) – 304 yards
Ben Griffin (North Carolina) – 304 yards
Matthias Schwab (Vanderbilt) – 302 yards
Santiago Gomez (Nova Southeastern) – 287 yards

Name (School) – No. strokes
Zack Jaworski (Vanderbilt) – 18 (WINNER)
Rigel Fernandes (South Florida) – 19
Matthias Schwab (Vanderbilt) – 20
Will Zalatoris (Wake Forest) – 21
Taylor Moore (Arkansas) – 22
Gavin Hall (Texas) – 23
Brandon Pierce (LSU) – 23
Max Rottluff (Arizona State) – 23
Santiago Gomez (Nova Southeastern) – 24
Riley Davenport (Charlotte) – 25
Zach Seabolt (Winthrop) – 25
Zach Wright (LSU) – 29
Claudio Correa (South Florida) – 30
Beau Hossler (Texas) – 34
Ben Griffin (North Carolina) – 38

About the Tournament
The 2015 Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic will be held November 6-8 at the El Paso Country Club, where the best college golfers in the country will look to etch their name onto the tournament’s illustrious history.

The Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic is one of the premier college golf tournaments in the country. Some of golf’s brightest stars have traveled to El Paso to compete in the tournament since its inaugural year in 1976.

Jordan Spieth, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Davis Love III, Ricky Barnes, Notah Begay and Jerry Pate are just a handful of past participants who went on to have successful PGA careers. College All-America Golf Classic Alumni have combined to win 47 majors championships and have earned over $1 billion in career earnings.

To be eligible for competition student-athletes must have been named as an All-America team honoree during the previous year. The event is free and open to the public.

2015 Schedule
Saturday (Nov. 7)
8 a.m. First & Second Rounds

Sunday (Nov. 8)
8 a.m. Final Round

Lee Trevino Trophy presentation immediately following final round.