EL PASO, Texas – Quade Cummins, of Weatherford, Okla., is returning to El Paso to defend his title in the 2019 Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, which is set for Nov. 24-26 at El Paso Country Club.

Cummins, who will be a part of the largest field ever at the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, won the tournament title in 2018, finishing 54 holes of play in a tie for first. He took home the Lee Trevino Trophy last year after defeating Spencer Ralston in a playoff hole on the final day of play. That was the first time since 2011 that there was a playoff in the All-America Golf Classic, while it also marked the 14th tournament that the winner has been crowned after a playoff.

Fans don’t want to miss the opportunity to see future PGA Tour players in action on the par 71, 6,889 yard El Paso Country Club course. There are 37 players from all around the world coming to El Paso, hoping to do what Tiger Woods did in 1997. They have achieved All-America status or have a high-amateur ranking. This is the largest field the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic has had eclipsing the previous high of 32 participants, which happened in 2009.

“It seemed, early on that we might not be able to fill a strong field, but once again the golf committee continues to work tirelessly to bring some of the best amateur players in the country to El Paso,” said Sun Bowl Association Executive Director Bernie Olivas. “This year is no different. We invite everyone to come out and watch the competition and even get autographs and pictures with future pros.”

There are four players making their second appearance in the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, including Mason Overstreet, Peng Pichaikool, Matthias Schmid and Cummins, who will be attempting to become only the third player to ever win back-to-back All-America Golf Classic titles. Gavin Green won the 2013 and 2014 tournaments, while Chris Patton won in 1988 and 1989.

“Players are invited to this tournament because of their many college achievements and outstanding amateur career and ranking,” said Tournament Director Bob Kimble. “I can assure the fans that many future PGA Tour players will be out on the course during this tournament.”

The Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic is one of the premier amateur golf tournaments in the country. Some of golf’s brightest stars have traveled to El Paso to compete in the tournament since its inaugural year in 1974.

Jordan Spieth, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Davis Love III, Justin Thomas, Notah Begay and Jerry Pate are just a handful of past participants who went on to have successful PGA careers. College All-America Golf Classic Alumni have combined to win 53 major championships and have earned over $2 billion in career earnings.

The annual event starts with the Titleist Long Drive Contest and PING Putting Contest on Sunday, Nov. 24 at 9 a.m. (MT). The best opportunity for fans to get photos with the future PGA players and obtain autographs is on Sunday immediately following the two contests.

Rounds one and two are scheduled for Monday, Nov. 25 with a shotgun start scheduled for 8 a.m. (MT) while the final round is set for 8 a.m. (MT) on Tuesday, Nov. 26. The Lee Trevino Trophy will be presented to the winner immediately following Tuesday’s play.

2019 Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic Participants
Ludvig Aberg … Eslov, Sweden … Texas Tech
Philip Barbaree … Shreveport, Louisiana … LSU
Garrett Barber … Stuart, Florida … LSU
Albin Bergstrom … Ljunghusen, Sweden … USF
William Buhl … Fairhope, Alabama … Arkansas
Parker Coody … Plano, Texas … Texas
Kyle Cottam … Knoxville, Tennessee … Clemson
Quade Cummins … Weatherford, Oklahoma … Oklahoma
Adrien Dumont de Chassart … Villers la Ville, Belgium … Illinois
Hunter Eichhorn … Carney, Michigan … Marquette
Michael Feagles … Scottsdale, Arizona … Illinois
Jerry Ji … Hoofddorp, Netherlands … Illinois
Tripp Kinney … Waukee, Iowa … Iowa State
Peter Kuest … Fresno, California … BYU
Junmin “Jimmy” Lee … Mission, Texas … Texas A&M
Jamie Li … Bath, England … Florida State
RJ Manke … Lakewood, Washington … Pepperdine
Logan McAllister … Oklahoma City, Oklahoma … Oklahoma
Joshua McCarthy … Danville,California … Pepperdine
William Moll … Houston, Texas … Vanderbilt
William Mouw … Chino, California … Pepperdine
John Murphy … Kinsale, Ireland … Louisville
Mason Overstreet … Kingfisher, Oklahoma … Arkansas
Julian Perico … Lima, Peru … Arkansas
Trent Phillips … Inman, South Carolina … Georgia
Peng Pichaikool … Bangkok, Thailand … Mississippi State
Rhett Rasmussen … Draper, Utah … BYU
Garett Reband … Fort Worth, Texas … Oklahoma
Matthias Schmid … Maxhvette, Germany … Louisville
Sandy Scott … Nairn, Scotland … Texas Tech
Benjamin Shipp … Duluth, Georgia … NC State
Max Steinlechner … Innsbruck, Austria … NC State
Zan Luka Stirn … Kranj, Slovenia … Arkansas State
Jack Trent … Sunshine Coast, Australia … UNLV
Patrick Welch … Providence, Rhode Island … Oklahoma
Trevor Werbylo … Tucson, Arizona … Arizona
Trey Winstead … Baton Rouge, Louisiana … LSU

Marathon Petroleum Corporation (NYSE: MPC) is a leading, nationwide, integrated energy company headquartered in Findlay, Ohio. The company operates the nation’s largest refining system with over 3 million barrels per day of crude oil capacity across 16 refineries. MPC’s marketing system includes approximately 7,800 branded locations across the United States, including approximately 5,600 Marathon brand retail outlets. Speedway LLC, an MPC subsidiary, owns and operates approximately 4,000 retail convenience stores across the United States. MPC also owns the general partner and majority limited partner interest in two midstream companies, MPLX LP (NYSE: MPLX) and Andeavor Logistics LP (NYSE: ANDX), which own and operate gathering, processing, and fractionation assets, as well as crude oil and light product transportation and logistics infrastructure.

## ##