College All-America Golf Classic Alumni Participating in Ryder Cup September 28, 2016


EL PASO, Texas – The 2016 Ryder Cup teams are set and feature a total of 10 Pro Golf Association (PGA) players that have participated in the Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic in the past. The 10 PGA members are on the teams as either captains, vice-captains or players.

Leading the United States team is All-America Classic alum Davis Love III, who is the team captain. Love III played and won in El Paso during the 1984 tournament. He also played in the 1983 Classic.

“It’s always great to see players that have come and played in El Paso compete in these big tournaments,” Sun Bowl Association Executive Director Bernie Olivas said. “I remember seeing players like Tiger Woods, Jordan Spieth and Ricky Fowler walking the course at the El Paso Country Club as little known collegians.”

The 41st Ryder Cup is set for Sept. 30-Oct. 2 at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota and team USA has a well-known field that includes Jim Furyk, J.B. Holmes, Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Jordan Spieth, Ricky Fowler and Brandt Snedeker, all of whom are alumni to the All-America Classic. Joining the former All-America Classic participants on team USA are Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Ryan Moore, Patrick Reid and Jimmy Walker.

Team Europe, which has won eight of the last 10 and six of the last seven Ryder Cups, including the last three in a row, also has an alum from the College All-America Classic. Thomas Pieters, a 2012 player in the Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic, joins newly crowned FedExCup champion Rory McIlroy. They are teamed up with Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson, Sergio Garcia, Lee Westwood and Martin Kaymer, plus six rookies in Masters Champion Danny Willett, Rafa Cabrera Bello, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Andy Sullivan, and Chris Wood.

Play begins Friday morning.

Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic Alumni in Ryder Cup
Name (School Played For) Year Played in SBWRCAAGC Score at CAAGC Finish
Jim Furyk (Arizona) 1990 72-73-73—218 T16
Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech) 1999 69-67-72—208 1
Davis Love III (North Carolina) 1983 77-75-69—221 T17
1984 70-72-70—212 1
Phil Mickelson (Arizona State) 1989 W/D 24
Tiger Woods (Stanford) 1995 68-71-72—211 1
Jordan Spieth(Texas) 2011 71-72-75—218 T15
Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State) 2008 72-72-72—216 T16
Brandt Snedeker (Vanderbilt) 2002 74-70-71—215 5
J.B. Holmes (Kentucky) 2002 75-67-76—218 T8
Thomas Pieters (Illinois) 2012 70-67-65—202 4

Ryder Cup Tournament Page Link:
PGA Tour Page Link:

USA Roster:
Captain: Davis Love III
Vice-Captains: Jim Furyk, Tom Lehman, Steve Stricker, Bubba Watson, Tiger Woods
Players: Rickie Fowler, J.B. Holmes, Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Brooks Koepka, Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Ryan Moore, Patrick Reed, Brandt Snedeker, Jordan Spieth, Jimmy Walker

Europe Roster:
Captain: Darren Clarke
Vice-Captains: Thomas Bjorn, Padraig Harrington, Paul Lawrie, Ian Poulter, Sam Torrance
Players: Rafa Cabrera Bello, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Sergio Garcia, Martin Kaymer, Rory McIlroy, Thomas Pieters, Justin Rose, Henrick Stenson, Andy Sullivan, Lee Westwood, Danny Willett, Chris Wood

The 42nd edition of the All-America Classic is scheduled for Nov. 11-13, 2016 at the El Paso Country Club with 15 All-Americans already committed to participating.

+ Sun Bowl +